Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
03/30/2007 (Friday)
No. 07-17

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339


The Surface Transportation Board today provided a schedule of speakers' appearances and their time allocations--as well as new attendance instructions--for the STB's April 11, 2007 public hearing in the proceeding entitled Rail Capacity and Infrastructure Requirements, STB Ex Parte No. 671.

The Wednesday, April 11 hearing will begin at 8:00 a.m.--please note that this is a new starting time--in the STB's hearing room on the 1st Floor of the agency's headquarters at Patriots Plaza, 395 E Street, S.W., Washington, D.C.

The STB announced the April 11 hearing in STB Ex Parte No. 671 in a decision issued to the public on March 6, 2007. That decision established due dates for those wishing to speak at the hearing to advise the agency of their intent to participate and to request a time allotment, and for the submission of written testimony. Based on submissions received, the STB has set the hearing's schedule of speakers as shown on the Attachment to this news release. During the hearing, there will be no breaks in excess of 15 minutes.

Attendance instructions. The STB requests that all persons attending the hearing use the Patriots Plaza Building's main entrance at 395 E Street, S.W. (closest to the northeast corner of the intersection of 4th and E Streets). There will be no reserved seating, except for witnesses. The building will be open to the public at 7:00 a.m. and participants are encouraged to arrive early. There is no visitor parking in the building. Upon arrival, check in at the 1st Floor security desk in the main lobby. Be prepared to produce valid photographic identification (driver's license or local, state, or federal-government identification); sign-in at the security desk; receive a hearing-room pass (to be displayed at all times); submit to an inspection of all briefcases, handbags, etc.; then pass through a metal detector. Upon entering the hearing room, witnesses should check in with the Board Secretary. Persons choosing to exit the building during the course of the hearing must surrender their hearing-room passes to security personnel and will be subject to the above security procedures if they choose to re-enter the building. Hearing-room passes likewise will be collected from those exiting the hearing upon its conclusion.

Quiet laptops and tape recorders may be brought into the hearing room, but no provision will be made for the connection of personal computers to agency telephone lines. Cellular telephone use is not permitted in the hearing room; cell phones may be used quietly in the corridor surrounding the hearing room, or in the building's main lobby.

The STB's hearing room complies with the Americans With Disabilities Act, and persons needing such accommodations should telephone (202) 245-0245, or (202) 245-0352, by the close of business on April 10, 2007.

If a party wishes to enhance its presentation by using projector-adaptable visual displays and/or handouts, it may do so. Agency staff will be available to demonstrate the hearing room's projection system on April 10, 2007, from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please telephone (202) 245-0245, or (202) 245-0352, to make arrangements.

The schedule of speakers' appearances and time allocations was provided in a Decision issued today, March 30, 2007 in Rail Capacity and Infrastructure Requirements, STB Ex Parte No. 671. That schedule is available for viewing and downloading via the agency's Web site at A printed copy of the STB's decision also is available by contacting ASAP Document Solutions, 9332 Annapolis Rd., Suite 103, Lanham, MD 20706, telephone (202) 306-4004, or via

A video broadcast of the hearing will be accessible via the STB's Web site at, under "Information Center"/"Webcast"/"Live Video" on the home page.




Surface Transportation Board Public Hearing
STB Ex Parte No. 671
April 11, 2007
8:00 a.m.

Party / Speaker / Time Alloted

Panel I: Federal Government

U.S. Department of Transportation / Jeffrey N. Shane / 15 minutes

Panel II-A: Freight Railroads

BNSF Railway Company / Matthew K. Rose / 15 minutes

Union Pacific Railroad Company / James R. Young / 15 minutes

Panel II-B: Freight Railroads

CSX Transportation, Inc. / Michael J. Ward / 15 minutes

Kansas City Southern Railway Company / Michael R. Haverty / 10 minutes

Norfolk Southern Railway Company / Charles W. Moorman / 10 minutes

Panel III: Short Line and Regional Railroads

American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association / Richard F. Timmons / 10 minutes

Iowa Pacific Holdings, LLC and Permian Basin Railways, Inc. / John D. Heffner / 5 minutes

Panel IV: Passenger Rail

National Railroad Passenger Corporation / Alexander Kummant / 15 minutes

American Public Transportation Association / Dale Zehner / 10 minutes

Panel V: State Government Interests

American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials / David Ganovski / 10 minutes

Texas Department of Transportation / Richard H. Streeter / 10 minutes

Virginia Port Authority / Jeff Keever / 10 minutes

Washington State Transportation Commission / Dan O'Neal / 10 minutes

Panel VI: Regional and Local Government Interests

City of Chicago / Marcia Jiminez / 10 minutes

Regional Transportation District of Denver, Colorado / Charles A. Spitulnik / 10 minutes

Panel VII: Coal Shippers and Utilities

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation / Gary Voigt / 10 minutes

Concerned Captive Coal Shippers / C. Michael Loftus and Andrew B. Kolesar III / 10 minutes

Edison Electric Institute / William M. Mohl / 15 minutes

Foundation Energy Sales, Inc. / Betsy Monseu / 5 minutes

National Coal Transportation Association / Thomas C. Canter / 5 minutes

Western Coal Traffic League / Thomas D. Crowley and Peter A. Pfohl / 15 minutes

Panel VIII-A: Shippers and Shipper Interests

Alliance for Rail Competition, et al. / Michael W. Snovitch / 10 minutes

The National Industrial Transportation League / Curt Warfel and John Ficker / 15 minutes

UPS / Thomas F. Jensen / 10 minutes

Panel VIII-B: Shippers and Shipper Interests

American Chemistry Council / Thomas E. Schick / 10 minutes

Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc. / Steve Hirsch / 5 minutes

National Grain & Feed Association / Kendell W. Keith / 10 minutes

Total Petrochemicals USA, Inc. / Rick Charter and Michael McBride / 10 minutes

Panel IX: Labor

United Transportation Union-General Committee of Adjustment / Gordon P. MacDougall / 5 minutes

Panel X: Other Interests

Nick J. Rahall, II Appalachian Transportation Institute / Robert H. Plymale / 10 minutes

CenterPoint Properties / Daniel J. Hemmer / 10 minutes

RAIL Solution / David L. Foster / 10 minutes