Contact: Dennis Watson
01/03/2002 (Thursday)
(202) 565-1596
No. 02-1
FIRS 1 (800) 877-8339

Wayne O. Burkes Designated Vice Chairman of Surface Transportation Board

Surface Transportation Board (Board) Chairman Linda J. Morgan announced that today, January 3, 2002, the Board designated Commissioner Wayne O. Burkes as its Vice Chairman. He succeeds former Commissioner William Clyburn, Jr., who served in that position during 2001. The Board's Vice Chairmanship rotates among Commissioners on an annual basis.

Vice Chairman Burkes, the fifth Board Member since the agency's creation in 1996, was nominated to the Board by President Clinton, and was confirmed by the Senate on February 22, 1999, for a term expiring December 31, 2002. Vice Chairman Burkes received his B.S., M.Ed., and LL.D. degrees from Mississippi College, and a M.Div. Degree from the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. He is also a graduate of the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, the Air University's Air War College, and the Transportation Executive Institute of the University of Virginia.