Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
10/14/2005 (Friday)
No. 05-29

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339

Public & Media Advisory: Surface Transportation Board Provides Schedule of Speakers' Appearances for October 19 Public Hearing on "The 25th Anniversary of the Staggers Rail Act of 1980: A Review & Look Ahead"

Surface Transportation Board Chairman Roger Nober today provided a schedule of speakers' appearances and their time allocations for the STB's October 19, 2005 public hearing in the proceeding entitled The 25th Anniversary of the Staggers Rail Act of 1980: A Review and Look Ahead, STB Ex Parte No. 658.

The public hearing marking the 25th anniversary of the Staggers Act will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, October 19, in Room 760, the STB's hearing room, on the 7th Floor of the agency's headquarters in the Mercury Building, 1925 K Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.

The October 19th hearing is designed to provide a forum for the expression of the views of interested persons and parties, including large and small railroad customers, rail employee representatives, large and small railroads, and governmental officials on the impact, effectiveness, and future of the Act. The hearing is not intended to offer a forum for discussion of pending cases, but will provide an opportunity for participants to address broader issues regarding the Act generally.

The Board requests that all persons attending the hearing use the Mercury Building's main entrance at 1925 K Street (on the northeast corner of the intersection of 20th and K Streets). There will be no reserved seating. Please plan to arrive early enough to be seated no later than 8:45 a.m. for the morning session, and no later than 12:45 p.m. for the afternoon session. For security reasons, all persons should be prepared to produce photo identification (such as a driver's license), pass through a metal detector, and submit to an inspection of all briefcases, handbags, and any other bags. Visitors must be cleared through security in the Board's Suite 100 (on the 1st Floor, at the top of the ramp to the left of the main lobby) prior to being escorted to the hearing room.

The schedule of speakers' appearances and time allocations was provided in a decision issued to the public today, October 14, 2005, in STB Ex Parte No. 658. That decision is available for viewing and downloading via the agency's Web site at A printed copy of the decision also is available for a fee by contacting ASAP Document Solutions, 9332 Annapolis Rd., Suite 103, Lanham, MD 20706, telephone (202) 306-4004, or via The list of speakers is attached.

A live broadcast of the audio portion of the hearing will be accessible via the STB's agency's Web site at, under "Information Center"/"Webcast"/"Live Audio" on the home page.



Surface Transportation Board Public Hearing


STB Ex Parte No. 658

Party / Speaker /Time Allotted

Panel I: Government Entities
U.S. Department of Transportation/Paul Samuel Smith/5 minutes

Panel II-A: Shippers
The National Industrial Transportation League/Curt Warfel, John Ficker/10 minutes

American Chemistry Council/Charles W. Van Vlack/5 minutes

National Grain and Feed Association/Kendell Keith/10 minutes

Transportation, Elevator, and Grain Merchants Association/Chuck Elsea/5 minutes

United Parcel Service/Tom Jensen/5 minutes

Graniterock /Dan Slavin/5 minutes

Panel II-B: Shippers
Edison Electric Institute/Michael F. McBride, Charles Linderman/10 minutes

Western Coal Traffic League/Duane L. Richards, Thomas D. Crowley/10 minutes

Concerned Captive Coal Shippers/C. Michael Loftus/5 minutes

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association/Glenn English/5 minutes

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation/Michael A. Nelson/5 minutes

Panel III: Labor
United Transportation Union/James Brunkenhoefer, James Stem, Daniel R. Elliott, III/
10 minutes

Transportation Communications International Union/Mitchell M. Kraus/10 minutes

Panel IV: Financial Analysts
Merrill Lynch/Ken Hoexter/5 minutes

J.P. Morgan Securities, Inc./Thomas Wadewitz/5 minutes

Morgan Stanley/James Valentine/5 minutes

Party / Speaker /Time Allotted

Panel V-A: Larger Railroads
CSX Transportation, Inc./Les Passa/10 minutes

BNSF Railway Company/John P. Lanigan/10 minutes

Union Pacific Railroad Company/James R. Young/10 minutes

Norfolk Southern Railway Company/Stephen C. Tobias/10 minutes

The Kansas City Southern Railway Company/Ronald G. Russ/10 minutes

Canadian Pacific Railway Company/Michael Waites/10 minutes

Canadian National Railway Company/Gordon T. Trafton/10 minutes

Panel V-B: Smaller Railroads and Related Interests
Wheeling & Lake Erie Railway Company/Larry R. Parsons/5 minutes

Columbus & Greenville Railroad/Roger D. Bell/5 minutes

Genesee & Wyoming, Inc./Charles Marshall/5 minutes

Rail Industry Working Group/J. Reilly McCarren/5 minutes

RailAmerica, Inc./Charles Swinburn/5 minutes

Panel VI: Other Interested Parties
Snavely King Majoros O'Connor & Lee, Inc./Thomas O'Connor/5 minutes

HIGHROAD Consulting, Ltd./Sandra J. Dearden/5 minutes

University of Maryland, Smith School of Business/Curtis M. Grimm/5 minutes

Northwest Container Services/Art Scheunemann/5 minutes

Strategic Rail Finance/Michael Sussman/5 minutes

Paul A. London/5 minutes