Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
09/21/2007 (Friday)
No. 07-32

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339


Surface Transportation Board Chairman Charles D. Nottingham today announced the appointment of 23 individuals to serve on the newly established Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee (RETAC). The new appointees will provide advice and guidance to the Board and participate as a forum for the discussion of emerging issues regarding the railroad transportation of energy resources, particularly--but not limited to--coal, ethanol and other biofuels.

The following individuals were appointed to the RETAC:

William Berg, CEO, Dairyland Power Cooperative, La Crosse, WI
Stevan Bobb, Group VP, Coal, BNSF, Forth Worth, TX
Paul Bowers, President, Southern Co. Generation and Energy Marketing, Atlanta, GA
James Brunkenhoefer, National Legis. Director, United Transportation Union, Washington, DC
John Eaves, President and COO, Arch Coal, St. Louis, MO
Daryl Haack, corn and soybean farmer, Primghar, IA
Paul Hammes, VP & General Manager, Agricultural Products, Union Pacific, Omaha, NE
C. Joseph Hopf, President, PPL EnergyPlus LLC, Allentown, PA
Robert Hulick, Senior VP, Business Development, TrinityRail, Dallas, TX
Mark Huston, Director, North American Transp., Louis Dreyfus Commodities, Kansas City, MO
Richard C. Kelly, Chairman, President, CEO, Xcel Energy, Minneapolis, MN
Dan Kuehn, Exec. Mgr.,Wholesale Power Services, Lower Colo. River Auth., Austin, TX
Edward McKechnie, Chief Commercial Officer, WATCO Companies, Pittsburg, KS
Betsey Monseu, VP, Transportation, Foundation Coal, Linthicum Heights, MD
Michael Rayphole, VP, Sales and Transp., Peabody Coalsales Co., Gillette, WY
James Redding, VP, External Relations, Aventine Renewable Energy, Inc., Pekin, IL
David J. Rohal, VP, RailAmerica , Boca Raton, FL
Henry Rupert, Asst. VP, Utility North, CSXT, Jacksonville, FL
Daniel Ray Sabin, President, Iowa Northern Ry Co., Cedar Rapids, IA
Darin Selby, Asst. VP, Coal Sales and Marketing, KCSR, Kansas City, MO
Alan Shaw, Sr., Director of Coal Transp., Norfolk Southern, Norfolk, VA
Darrell Wallace, VP, Transportation Commodities Group, Bunge North America, St. Louis, MO
Jay Wileman, President and CEO, GE Equipment Services, Chicago, IL

Chairman Nottingham also announced that the first meeting of the RETAC will take place at 10:00 a.m. on October 24, 2007 at the Surface Transportation Board headquarters in Washington, D.C.

The Board announced the RETAC appointees in a decision issued today, September 21, 2007, in the proceeding entitled Establishment of a Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee, STB Ex Parte No. 670. That decision can be found on the Board's web site, at, under "E-Library," then under "Decisions & Notices," beneath the date "9/21/07." Printed copies of the Board's decisions also are available for a fee by contacting ASAP Document Solutions, 9332 Annapolis Rd., Suite 103, Lanham, MD 20706, telephone (202) 306-4004 or via