Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
01/23/2007 (Tuesday)
No. 07-05

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339


The Surface Transportation Board today provided a schedule of speakers' appearances and their time allocations for the STB's January 31, 2007 public hearing in the proceeding entitled Simplified Standards for Rail Rate Cases, STB Ex Parte No. 646 (Sub-No. 1).

The Wednesday, January 31 hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. in Room 760, the STB's hearing room, on the 7th Floor of the agency's headquarters in the Mercury Building, 1925 K Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.

The STB announced the January 31 public hearing in STB Ex Parte No. 646 (Sub-No. 1) in a decision issued to the public on December 19, 2006. That decision established due dates for those wishing to speak at the hearing to advise the agency of their intent to participate, and to request a time allotment. Based on submissions received, the STB has set the hearing's schedule of speakers as shown on the Attachment to this news release.

Attendance instructions. The STB requests that all persons attending the hearing use the Mercury Building's main entrance at 1925 K Street (on the northeast corner of the intersection of 20th and K Streets). There will be no reserved seating. Please plan to arrive early enough to be seated no later than 8:45 a.m. For security reasons, all persons should be prepared to produce photo identification (such as a driver's license), pass through a metal detector, and submit to an inspection of all briefcases, handbags, and any other bags. Visitors must be cleared through security in the STB's Suite 100 (on the 1st Floor, at the top of the ramp to the left of the main lobby).

Quiet laptops and tape recorders may be brought into the hearing room, but absolutely no provision will be made for the connection of personal computers to agency telephone lines. Cellular telephone use is not permitted in the hearing room, or in the rear anteroom; cell phones may be used only outside the hearing room. The STB's hearing room complies with the Americans With Disabilities Act, and persons needing such accommodations should telephone (202) 565-1500, or (202) 565-1653, by the close of business on January 26, 2007.

Witnesses are encouraged to supplement, rather than repeat, the testimony of others on their panel. In an effort to further focus the testimony, in a decision issued to the public yesterday, January 22, 2007, the STB identified a number of specific issues which it invited parties to address during the hearing. In that decision, the STB also indicated that the record in STB Ex Parte No. 646 (Sub-No. 1) would remain open until February 26, 2007.

If a party wishes to enhance its presentation by using projector-adaptable visual displays and/or handouts, it may do so. Agency staff will be available to demonstrate the hearing room's projection system on January 27, 2007, from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please telephone (202) 565-1500, or (202) 565-1653, to make arrangements.

The schedule of speakers' appearances and time allocations was provided in a decision issued to the public yesterday, January 22, 2007, in STB Ex Parte No. 646 (Sub-No. 1) and amended by a notice issued today, January 23, 2007. The schedule is available for viewing and downloading via the agency's Web site at A printed copy of the Board's decision also is available for a fee by contacting ASAP Document Solutions, 9332 Annapolis Rd., Suite 103, Lanham, MD 20706, telephone (202) 306-4004, or via

A video broadcast of the hearing will be accessible via the STB's Web site at, under "Information Center"/"Webcast"/"Live Video" on the home page.




Surface Transportation Board Public Hearing
STB Ex Parte No. 646 (Sub-No. 1)


Party / Speaker / Time Allotted

Panel I: Government
United States Department of Transportation / Paul S. Smith / 5 minutes

Panel II: Shippers/Trade Associations
Interest Parties (Joint Shipper Group) / Nicholas J. DiMichael, Andrew P. Goldstein, Thomas D. Crowley, Gerald W. Fauth III / 45 minutes

National Grain & Feed Association / Dan Mack / 10 minutes

National Industrial Traffic League / Doug Kratzberg / 10 minutes

Panel III: Shippers/Trade Associations
Dow Chemical Company / Jeffrey O. Moreno / 10 minutes

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation / Steve Sharp / 10 minutes

Alliance for Rail Competition / Michael W. Snovitch / 7 minutes

Snavely King Majoros O'Connor & Lee / Tom O'Connor / 10 minutes

Panel IV: Labor
United Transportation Union-General Committee of Adjustment / Gordon P. MacDougal /
3 minutes

Panel V: Railroads
Association of American Railroads / Samuel M. Sipe, Jr. / 10 minutes

BNSF Railway Company / Richard E. Weicher / 10 minutes

Union Pacific Railroad Company / Louise A. Rinn / 10 minutes

Panel VI: Railroads
Canadian National Railway Company / Theodore K. Kalick / 10 minutes

Canadian Pacific Railway Company / Terence M. Hynes / 10 minutes

CSX Transportation, Inc. / G. Paul Moates / 10 minutes

Norfolk Southern Railway Company / G. Paul Moates / 10 minutes

Kansas City Southern Railway Company / William A. Mullins / 10 minutes