Contact: Dennis Watson
01/04/2000 (Tuesday)
(202) 565-1596
No. 00-1
FIRS 1 (800) 877-8339


Surface Transportation Board (Board) Chairman Linda J. Morgan announced that today, January 4, 2000, the Board designated Commissioner Wayne Burkes as its Vice Chairman. He succeeds Commissioner William Clyburn, Jr., who served in that position during 1999. The Board's Vice Chairmanship rotates among Commissioners on an annual basis.

Vice Chairman Burkes, the fifth Board Member since the agency's creation in 1996, was nominated to the Board by President Clinton, and was confirmed by the Senate on February 22, 1999, for a term expiring December 31, 2002. Vice Chairman Burkes received his B.S., M.Ed., and LL.D. degrees from Mississippi College, and a M.Div. Degree from the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. He is also a graduate of the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, the Air University's Air War College, and the Transportation Executive Institute of the University of Virginia.

Commissioner Clyburn was nominated to the Board on September 2, 1997, by President Clinton and began service on December 18, 1998, for a term expiring December 31, 2000. After taking his oath of office on December 21, 1998, as the fourth Member of the Board since its creation, Commissioner Clyburn was designated Vice Chairman by the Board on January 6, 1999. Commissioner Clyburn received his undergraduate degree in Ceramic Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his J. D. degree from the University of South Carolina.