Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
02/15/2011 (Tuesday)
Eric Weiss
No. 11-05

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339


The Surface Transportation Board today announced a schedule of speakers’ appearances and their time allocations for the Board’s February 24, 2010 public hearing to review exemptions from railroad-transportation regulations for certain commodities and for boxcar and intermodal freight.

The Thursday, Feb. 24 hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Board’s Hearing Room on the 1st Floor of the agency’s headquarters at Patriots Plaza I, 395 E Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The hearing will be webcast on the agency’s website,


Panel I: Federal Government
U.S. Department of Transportation, Peter Plocki, 10 minutes

Panel II: Railroad Interests
American Short Line & Regional Railroad Association, Richard F. Timmons, 10 minutes

Association of American Railroads, Edward R. Hamberger and Prof. Robert Willig, 20 minutes

Panel III: Shipper Interests
Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Jeffrey O. Moreno, 10 minutes

American Forest & Paper Association and The Paper and Forest Industry Committee, Bill Lovick, 10 minutes

Blue Line Community, Dean Zulger, 10 minutes

National Industrial Transportation League, Bruce Carlton, 10 minutes

Wisconsin Central Group, John Duncan Varda, 10 minutes

Panel IV: Freight Railroads
BNSF Railway Company, John P. Lanigan, 10 minutes

CSX Transportation, Inc., Clarence Gooden, 10 minutes

Kansas City Southern, Patrick J. Ottensmeyer, 10 minutes

Norfolk Southern Railway Company, David Lawson, 10 minutes

Union Pacific Railroad Company, Eric Butler, Julie Krehbiel, 10 minutes

Panel V: Shippers
Holcim (US) Inc., Mike Eischer, 10 minutes

Packaging Corporation of America, Dina Calabro and Bruce Ridley, 10 minutes

Weaver Popcorn Company, Inc., Will Weaver, 10 minutes

Panel VI: Intermodal Interests
Intermodal Association of North America, Inc., Joanne F. Casey, 10 minutes

Panel VII: Other Interests
CNJ Rail Corporation, Eric Strohmeyer, 5 minutes

Mercury Group, Craig S. Dickman, 5 minutes

Ray Tylicki, 5 minutes

United Transportation Union-New York State Legislative Board, Gordon MacDougall, 5 minutes