Contact: Janie Sheng (202) 245-0221
11/27/2007 (Tuesday)
No. 07-40

FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339


The Surface Transportation Board today provided a schedule of speakers' appearances and their time allocations for the Board's December 4, 2007 public hearing in the proceeding entitled Methodology To Be Employed in Determining the Railroad Industry's Cost of Capital, STB Ex Parte No. 664.

The Tuesday, December 4 hearing will begin at 10:00 a.m. in the STB's Hearing Room on the 1st Floor of the agency's headquarters at Patriots Plaza, 395 E Street, S.W., Washington, D.C.

The STB announced the December 4 hearing in STB Ex Parte No. 664 in a decision issued to the public on October 24, 2007. That decision established due dates for those wishing to speak at the hearing to advise the agency of their intent to participate and to request a time allotment, and for the submission of written testimony. Based on submissions received, the STB has set the hearing's schedule of speakers as shown on the Attachment to this news release.

Attendance instructions. The STB requests that all persons attending the hearing use the Patriots Plaza Building's main entrance at 395 E Street, S.W. (closest to the northeast corner of the intersection of 4th and E Streets). There will be no reserved seating, except for witnesses. The building will be open to the public at 7:00 a.m. and participants are encouraged to arrive early. There is no public parking in the building. Upon arrival, check in at the 1st Floor security desk in the main lobby. Be prepared to produce valid photographic identification (driver's license or local, state, or federal-government identification); sign-in at the security desk; receive a hearing-room pass (to be displayed at all times); submit to an inspection of all briefcases, handbags, etc.; then pass through a metal detector. Upon entering the hearing room, witnesses should check in with the Board Secretary. Persons choosing to exit the building during the course of the hearing must surrender their hearing-room passes to security personnel and will be subject to the above security procedures if they choose to re-enter the building. Hearing-room passes likewise will be collected from those exiting the hearing upon its conclusion.

Quiet laptops and tape recorders may be brought into the hearing room, but no provision will be made for the connection of personal computers to agency telephone lines. Cellular telephone use is not permitted in the hearing room; cell phones may be used quietly in the corridor surrounding the hearing room, or in the building's main lobby.

The Board's hearing room complies with the Americans With Disabilities Act, and persons needing such accommodations should telephone (202) 245-0245 by the close of business on December 3, 2007.

If a party wishes to enhance its presentation by using projector-adaptable visual displays and/or handouts, it may do so. Agency staff will be available to demonstrate the hearing room's projection system on December 3, 2007, from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please telephone (202) 245-0245 to make arrangements.

The schedule of speakers' appearances and time allocations was provided in a Decision issued today, November 27, 2007 in STB Ex Parte No. 664. That schedule is available for viewing and downloading via the agency's Web site at A printed copy of the STB's decision also is available by contacting ASAP Document Solutions, 9332 Annapolis Rd., Suite 103, Lanham, MD 20706, telephone (202) 306-4004, or via

A video broadcast of the hearing will be accessible via the STB's Web site at, under "Information Center"/"Webcast"/"Live Video" on the home page.

ATTACHMENT (speakers' list)



December 4, 2007

Party / Time Allotted

Panel I: Federal Government
U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Railroad Administration
Clifford C. Eby / 5 minutes

Panel II: Consultants
Association of American Railroads
Stewart C. Myers and Bruce E. Stangle / 30 minutes

Western Coal Traffic League
Thomas D. Crowley and James E. Hodder / 30 minutes

Panel III: Freight Railroads
Union Pacific Railroad Company
James R. Young / 5 minutes

BNSF Railway Company
Thomas N. Hund / 5 minutes

CSX Transportation, Inc.
David A. Boor / 5 minutes

Kansas City Southern Railway Company
Michael K. Borrows / 5 minutes

Norfolk Southern Railway Company
William J. Romig / 5 minutes

Panel IV: Other Interests
Atticus Capital LLP
Heath Watkin / 5 minutes

Panel V: Associations
Association of American Railroads
G. Paul Moates / 10 minutes

National Industrial Transportation League
Nicholas J. DiMichael / 5 minutes

Western Coal Traffic League
Robert D. Rosenberg / 10 minutes