Contact: Dennis Watson
01/05/2001 (Friday)
(202) 565-1596
No. 01-1
FIRS 1 (800) 877-8339


Surface Transportation Board (Board) Chairman Linda J. Morgan announced today that the Board designated Commissioner William Clyburn, Jr. as its Vice Chairman. He succeeds Commissioner Wayne Burkes, who served in that position during 2000. The Board's Vice Chairmanship rotates among Commissioners on an annual basis.

Vice Chairman Clyburn, a Democrat from South Carolina, was appointed as the fourth member of the Board by President Clinton on December 18, 1998. President Clinton subsequently resubmitted the Vice Chairman's nomination in the 106th Congress, and the United States Senate confirmed his nomination on February 22, 1999, for a term to expire on December 31, 2000. Prior to joining the Board, Vice Chairman Clyburn served as the Commerce Counsel to former Senator Chuck Robb (D.-Va.). The Vice Chairman also served as Staff Counsel to the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation (1993-95). From 1992-1993, he served as a Law Clerk to the Honorable Rodney A. Peeples of the Second Circuit Court in South Carolina. Vice Chairman Clyburn received his B.S. degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his J.D. degree from the University of South Carolina.

Commissioner Burkes was nominated to the Board by President Clinton, and was confirmed by the Senate as the fifth member of the Board on February 22, 1999, for a term expiring December 31, 2002. Commissioner Burkes was designated Vice Chairman by the Board on January 4, 2000. He received his B.S., M.Ed., and LL.D. degrees from Mississippi College; a M.Div. Degree from the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; and is a graduate of the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, the Air University's Air War College, and the Transportation Executive Institute of the University of Virginia.