Minutes for RSTAC Meeting, November 3-4, 2015

The Railroad-Shipper Transportation Advisory Council (the "Council"), pursuant to notice, held a meeting on November 3 - 4, 2015 in Washington, DC. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m., on November 3rd, 2015, by Chairman Ogborn. The following members were present: Chairman: Michael Ogborn, OmniTRAX; Vice Chairman Shelley Sahling-Zart, Lincoln Electric System; Treasurer/Secretary: Howard Kaplan, U.S. Magnesium, LLC; Robin Burns, Occidental Chemical Corp.; Robert Byrd, Nucor; Michael Christensen, Port of Long Beach; Tom Giovinazzi, Holcim (US), Inc.; Wayne Hurst, Agricultural Producer; Lawrence Malski, Pennsylvania Northeast Regional Railroad Authority; John McCreavy, SMS Rail Services, Inc.; Mike Mohan, Canadian National Railway Company; Daniel Zink, Red River Valley & Western Railroad.

Also present were: Chairman Daniel Elliott, Surface Transportation Board; Vice Chair Deb Miller, Surface Transportation Board; and Ann D Begeman, Commissioner, Surface Transportation Board; STB staff members Gabriel Meyer, Brian O'Boyle and Janie Sheng also attended portions of the meeting.

Absent: George Duggan, BNSF; John Friedman, Norfolk Southern Corporation; Jeanne Sebring, International Paper; and Scott Greene, Federal Railroad Administration.

9:00 a.m. Meeting Commences

- 1. Welcome from Chairman Ogborn
- 2. Welcoming remarks from STB Chairman Daniel Elliott, Vice Chair Deb Miller, and Commissioner Ann Begeman
- 3. Reports from the field
- 4. Report on pending legislation from Patrick Fuchs, Senate Commerce Committee Staff
- 5. Update from Jo Strang, VP Regulatory Affairs, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association on flammable liquids transportation
- 6. Update and Overview of PTC and related topics by Keith Borman, General Counsel, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
- 7. Adjournment at approximately 4:45 pm

Wednesday, November 4th, 2015: Meeting commences at 9:00am without Commissioners

8. The minutes from the August, 2015 meeting were approved, followed by a financial report by Treasurer Howard Kaplan. Dues for 2016 agreed by all at \$700 for large shippers and railroads, and \$375 for small shippers and railroads.

- 9. Commissioners arrive 9:30 a.m. George Duggan, Jeanne Sebring and Scott Greene join meeting as well; Robin Burns joins via telephone; Mohan and Friedman absent; Tom Williams of BNSF to take Duggan's position as large Railroad representative.
- 10. Additional field reports provided
- 11. Presentation by Joshua Wayland on recently launched STB Railroad Map Depot
- 12. Discussions regarding meeting schedule for 2016 and possible future topics for discussion. The next RSATC meetings will be January 27-28, May 4-5, November 2-3, starting with half day first day and full day second day. RSTAC Chairman after January to be Shelley Sahling-Zart and Vice Chair John McCreavy. Field trip planned in August, and possible sites included Charleston, SC with visits to Nucor and Oxy; Michigan visit to Oxy and possibly a Dallas trip. Possible future topics included a speaker on the TRB report, further discussion regarding car supply issues, further discussions on PTC possibly from MeteorComm, STB metrics, Freight Policy Council update from Freight Advisory Committee, and Chicago Transportation office update on winter plans and status.

Adjourned at approximately noon on November 4th, 2015.