U.S. flag signifying that this is a United States Federal government website An official website of the United States government


Notice: The STB will perform planned website maintenance Friday, June 14, 2024, from 5:00 PM EDT to 6:00 PM EDT. As a result, the STB website, including e-filing, filings, decisions, recordations and related advanced search may be intermittently unavailable during the maintenance window.

Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee

The Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee (RETAC) was established by the Surface Transportation Board in July 2007 to provide advice and guidance to the Board, and to serve as a forum for discussion of emerging issues regarding the transportation by rail of energy resources (including coal, ethanol, and other biofuels).  RETAC is comprised of 25 voting members, representing a balance of stakeholders with interests in energy transportation by rail, including large and small railroads, coal producers, electric utilities, the biofuels industry, the petroleum industry, and the private railcar industry.  The five members of the Board serve as ex officio members of RETAC, along with representatives of the Departments of Agriculture, Energy, Transportation, and the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.  Meetings, which are open to the public, are held at least twice a year.  For questions about RETAC, contact Kristen Nunnally by phone at 202-245-0312 or by e-mail at .

Voting Members


Brian Fuller
Southern Company


Angela Caddell
BNSF Railway Company


Phillip Obie II
Santee Cooper

Bette Whalen
Lower Colorado River Authority

Jeff Eliason
CHS Renewable Fuels

Edward Quinn
RJ Corman

Robert W. Guy
SMART – Transportation Division

Sandra Ellis
Canadian National

Adam Anderson
Western Fuels

James Grech
Peabody Energy

Ben Sweat

Sean Brewer

Mark Huston
Louis Dreyfus Company, LLC

Lee K. Johnson
Hess Corporation

Edwin McKechnie
McKechnie & Company, LLC

John Brisdson

Laura Heisterkamp
Union Pacific Railroad

Vern Lund
Navajo Transitional Energy Co.

Christopher Hand
Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen

Robert Zmudka

Steve Ewers
Norfolk Southern Corporation

Emily Regis
Arizona Electric Power Cooperative

Leila Ford

Dave Slade
Chevron Renewable Energy Group

Paul Lang
Arch Coal

John Haysbert
Hitachi Energy

Bryan Boaz

Meeting Presentations and Materials


See Decision

This meeting was held in Paducah, Kentucky, on November 14, 2019, at the offices of the Paducah and Louisville Railway.

Other Documents

Charter and Renewal Charters